LOCATION OF THE HORSEHEADS HISTORICAL SOCIETY
In the 1800's any
village worth it's salt pointed with pride to its
Railroad depot. As the focal point for commerce and community pride,
the railroad station bespoke volumes about the village.
Horseheads citizens in the early 1860's were somewhat embarrassed by the condition of their depot if the following account written in the 1860's is to be taken as gospel.
“On the morning of January 6, 1864, the old depot building burned. This none regretted as it was good for nothing and a disgrace to the village
With this aid, the company commenced the construction of a new building in 1866 and Horseheads citizens had the pleasure of witnessing the completion of one of the best and most substantial brick depots in this section of the country.”
The Pennsylvania Railroad depot, located along what was known as the “Elmira Branch” of the PRR, is the only one standing. Passenger service along the Williamsport, PA to Canandauguia, NY line ended on January 2,1956.
In the years that followed, the depot was sold to the nearby feed company for use as a storage facility. In 1994 the building was sold to private ownership for use as a business. In the fall of 1995 the depot was purchased by the Horseheads Historical Society for preservation and use as museum, replacing the Zim Center.
Volunteers began work in 1997. Restoration through volunteer labor, donations of services, and financial support by interested people came to fruition in the summer of 1999. It was officially opened September 18,1999. The depot now has display areas, a meeting room, gift shop, office space kitchen and restroom facilities, and storage space. It houses Museum displays and artifacts related to the history of Horseheads. It is a true testament to its longevity and to the dedication of the volunteers who gave of their time and labor to make this museum a place of which Horseheads can be proud.